At Apple’s recent WWDC 2022 event, one of the most exciting features announced for iOS 16 is the ability to edit or retrieve messages already sent. Not only can this accidentally save you embarrassment when you accidentally call a coworker a loving name, but it can also give you a way out if you send the wrong message to the wrong person. Here’s a quick guide on how to edit or retrieve messages sent to iPhone.
Upgrade to iOS 16
Since these features are exclusive to iOS 16, you need to have it running on your iPhone before you can recover incorrect misses. With iOS 16 set to release in the fall (probably September), you may have to wait a while before being able to save your blues.
Assuming you’re happy to run software that isn’t completely finished, however, there’s always the option to sign up for the Apple Beta software program, which will allow you to run it shortly before you run the beta version of iOS 16. Available to the general public.
How not to send a message on iPhone
To withdraw a message, tap and hold the text bubble until you see the options menu. Select Undo remittance 6 And the message will be deleted from the recipient’s feed as well as from you.
One thing to note, though, is that you can only use this feature for up to 15 minutes after sending a message. Apple says that if you want to recover a message that has been deleted in this way, you can do so for up to 30 days from the time it was not sent.
How to edit messages sent to iPhone
If you notice that you have sent a message that has received an embarrassing misspelling word or that the auto-correction has been changed to something inappropriate, all is not lost. New editing features in iOS 16 can be a lifesaver.
Just tap on the sent message and wait for the options menu to appear, just like the send back feature above. After this time you are one Edit. Tap it and you’ll be able to interact with the text of the message
Highlight unwanted words or phrases, replace them with what you wanted to say, and the text will be corrected. There will be a notification below the bubble for full disclosure which says Distributed – EditedHowever, the recipient will not be told what was in the initial text.
One thing to note: Like unsent messages, you can edit a message within 15 minutes of sending it. After that and you just have to prepare your apology or excuse.
To see more useful capabilities you can expect in the next iteration of the iPhone operating system, read our guide to the top new iOS 16 features coming to your iPhone this fall, as well as 12 great little iOS 16 features you may have missed.